Torture Land

Tom Bright

In cart Not available Out of stock

Released in 1986 on the heels of his first release HANDS OF TIME, Tom Bright’s TORTURE LAND impressed industry professionals and the general public alike with a blend of 1980’s pop rock combined with country rock unique to Mr. Bright. The record received radio play on FM stations in Minneapolis as well as reginal airplay in greater Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin and the Dakotas as well as college airplay across the country. Radio promoter Tom Kay called me one day and said “You’re going to think this is funny but the program director in ST Cloud started getting requests for Tom Petty’s new song HARD CORE”. A couple of days later he called and said “This time it’s not so funny…The program director in Fargo called with listeners asking about the new Tom Petty song Hard Core”. HARD CORE is of course the opening track on TORTURE LAND.“

Mr. Bright has a knack for catchy yet substantive melodies. At his best on Freedom, he is wonderful” Boston Sweet Potato

“A top ten record…a record that matters” Musician Magazine

THE HARD REPORT Thanks to Blackberry Way Records… we’ve played several of their artists in the past and we’ll play more, especially from Tom Bright and Swing Set. Ron Sorenson KBLE Des Moines

Program Director Scott Klohn. Hot Rockin’ 104 KJJO Mpls, adds new songs from Blackberry Way to their playlist including Tom Bright and Flamin’ Oh’s. Hot Rockin’ 104 FM KJJO Minneapolis

I enjoyed listening to Tom Bright and would like to hear more material as well as information on this artist. Aaron Jacoves West Coast director of A&R A&M Records

Thank You for sending me the new release by Tom Bright. I’m delighted to be in touch with you regarding this new talent. I believe the record shows potential. You have a real good thing going on there in Minneapolis. Lets work towards finding something great together. Michael Barackmam Vice President A&R EMI Records

Tom Bright-Keyboards, Steel Guitar &Vocals

Robb Henry- Acoustic & Electric Guitars on Torture Land, Ice Queen, Hard Core, Excitable Repairman & Beautiful Lies

Michael Owens- Acoustic & Electric Guitars on Freedom, Younger Days & Shut Down

Curby Rule-Bass

Kevin Glynn-Drums & Percussion on Freedom, Excitable Repairman, Rodeo, Younger Days, Hard Core & Shut Down

Ben Kaplan-Drums & Percussion on Freedom, Torture Land & Ice Queen

Engineered by Michael Owens & Kevin Glynn @ Blackberry Way

Produced by Michael Owens, Kevin Glynn & Tom Bright

Remastered by Michael Owens @ Blackberry Way 2021

Read more… close